Un Dos Tres Tapas

I’ve had too much time on my hands recently and I’ve been re-posting pictures from some old vacations I’d taken. Well, the truth is I was clearing out my iPad for my mum to start using and came across all of my photos from my holiday in Belgium, Austria and Germany in 2014. And that took me back to Paris, Barcelona, Bruges in 2012.

June 15th, I recently learnt, is World Tapas Day and while this post comes in late, in that sense, I’m still pretty sure it’s worth the while.

I was in Barcelona for only a weekend in 2012, with a cousin and her friend. We ended up not sight seeing very much,
but ate to our hearts’ content and made sure the sangrias and the wines never stopped.

Of course, since it’s nearly 5 years ago, I don’t remember very many details, but I do remember where we ate at that weekend and when I see pictures, I know exactly what we ate too.

It’s hard to forget walking into Cal Pep, not knowing there wouldn’t be a menu and devouring pan con tomate after pan con tomate, interspersed with batter fried fish, clams done Catalonian style, mashed potatoes and bacon and baked merlan, downed with carafes of wine. There were several pit stops around Mercado la Boqueria the following day when I went spice shopping – razor clams and mixed mushrooms at Kiosko Universal, grilled shrimp and fresh squid at Bar Central, cones filled with slices of serrano ham along the way and croquetas so hot you can see the steam when you bite into one.

There’s a lovely picture I took back then – at an alfresco cafe on La Rambla, that I posted to my Instagram recently. And earlier this week, I discovered this fun tool called ThingLink where you can tag a picture with links. So, I thought it would be a fun exercise to post Tapas recipes from the web, into this picture. To spread the joy.

So here goes:

 

This piece on The Spruce explains everything you’ve ever wanted to know about Tapas.

Recipes from the thinglink image above (clockwise from top):

  1. Pescaíto Frito (Fried Fish)
  2. Croquetas de Jamón (Spanish Ham Croquettes)
  3. Gambas a la Plancha (Grilled Shrimp)
  4. Mejillones a La Marinara (Mussels in White Wine Sauce)
  5. Pimientos de Padrón (Spanish-Style Blistered Padrón Peppers)

An additional recipe for Sepia a la Plancha (Grilled Cuttlefish) and a picture that was taken in 2012.

Grilled Cuttlefish
Cuttlefish cooked on a grill, seasoned with olive oil, garlic and parsley.

You can also read about my Barcelona trip from 2012 here.

 

Leave a Reply

