Banoffee Pie

Happy New Year and all of that!

I’ve been very erratic with blog posts this past year and I hope I can change that this year. The one way I *can* do that is by keeping my posts short – especially the ones with recipes. So, here goes:

IMG_20150102_014603

Banoffee Pie:
Ingredients:
1 400g tin of condensed milk (I used MilkMaid)
3 ripe bananas
2 cups whipping cream (I used 1 packet of BlueBird Whipping Cream powder and followed instructions on the packet to make it)
1 pie crust (my go-to recipe here)
1/2 teaspoon cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon instant coffee powder

Method:
1. Let the (unopened) tin of condensed milk boil, on low flame, fully submerged in a vessel filled with water, for 3 – 3.5 hours. When you open the tin, it will be a delicious gooey brown toffee, just the kind you’d find inside a truffle. No kidding!
2. While your condensed milk in magically converting itself into toffee, you can make you pie crust. (or go for a movie or a dinner date!)
3. Let the toffee cool down to room temperature and make some whipped cream, in the meanwhile.
4. Chop some bananas just before you wish to assemble the pie and also make a quick mix with the cocoa powder and the coffee.
5. Layering the banoffee pie is easy – at the bottom of the pie crust goes the toffee. Then you layer it with sliced bananas. You top it off with whipped cream. And finally sprinkle a teaspoon of coffee and cocoa powder, for pretties.

IMG_20150102_001011

IMG_20150102_003419

6. Chill for a couple of hours before serving.

IMG_20150102_011152

Notes:
1. I find this method of making toffee/caramel extremely easy, totally fool proof and absolutely amazing. I’ve bombed making caramel from sugar (and condensed milk!) ever so often that it’s such a relief this works so well for me.
2. I’m not particularly a fan of bananas or banoffee pie, I find the latter cloyingly sweet. But everybody who ate this had good things to say.

Among other things, I’m on Instagram. I hope to post mostly food pictures. Though I do I resolve to not stop blogging, for sure!

Leave a Reply

