Bread Pudding

You know when you’re craving something sweet and you don’t have anything fancy at home to make into a good dessert? Until I was in Pune, I’d swear by the cake-in-a-mug. But moving to Bangalore, I could afford only either a microwave or am OTG. I picked the latter. And I’ve found my new go-to dessert recipe. Bread Pudding. Just as easy. And I promise you, this takes only 5 minutes to prep (though you must allow it about 30 minutes of bake-time).

If you remember my bread rant from an earlier post, I have an explanation for bread in my house. @surajmenon. I always end up with extra bread when he’s visiting. And then when he’s gone back to Pune or Jamshedpur or where ever it is that he’s headed, I have a good half loaf of bread in my refrigerator, that I invariably make into bread pudding.

Ingredients:
(Makes two bowls)
3 slices of stale bread
2 eggs
A couple of drops of vanilla essence
A handful of mixed nuts/dry-fruits (chopped almonds, chopped cashews, raisins, chopped figs)
4 tea spoons sugar
1/2 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg or cinnamon
2 tablespoons cold, unsalted butter

Method:
1. Beat the eggs, milk, sugar, spice and vanilla essence in a bowl and keep aside.
2. Cut the slices of bread into smaller pieces, I usually do a 3×3 grid, making nine pieces per slice of bread, and lay them out in ceramic bowls that you can put into the oven. Alternately, you can double the measures and set everything in a baking tin (and then eventually cut out squares of bread pudding while serving.)
3. Chop the butter into tiny cubes and divide them between the two bowls.
4. Add the mixed nuts and dry-fruits to the bowls too.
5. Now add the egg mixture into the two bowls. Dab the bread into the mixture so that the bread soaks well in the mixture.
6. Bake for 30 minutes in an oven at 180 degrees or until a knife inserted comes out clean.
7. Eat while it’s still warm.

Leave a Reply

