Vanilla and Nutmeg Frozen Yoghurt with Pear Crisps

I’m sure you crave different food things ever so suddenly, every once in a while. I do too. And then I go ahead and try making it, from scratch. At home. Because I’m an idiot.

I’m also not the biggest fruit eater around. So, in the event I end up with extra fruit at home, I use it to make dessert-y stuff that I might like better. Not to say I don’t like eating fruit. I eat some at work every day. And then, the usual fare of strawberries or oranges is usually sitting inside or on top of my refrigerator. But then, there was this pear. I’d already eaten two. And I really didn’t want to eat the third one plain, so I looked up for things I could do with it, on Google. And I found this brilliant recipe on Food 52.

Of course, mine look nothing as great and I will admit I did burn them a little. But they taste awesome! I also altered the recipe a wee little bit.

IMG_0120_edit

For the pear crisps:
Ingredients:
1 pear, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon sugar
1 inch inch piece of dried galangal
1 inch stick of cinnamon
1 tablespoon cocoa powder

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 135°C.
2. Grind the sugar, the galangal, the cocoa powder and the cinnamon to a powder and empty into a bowl.
3. Line a baking tray with a baking sheet.
4. Toss each slice of the pear in the spice mix and lay out on the baking sheet.
5. Bake for an hour (or a little more), until the slices are almost dry. Flip the slices over, about half way into the baking process, so that they bake evenly on both sides.
6. The slices will become crisp when they cool.

For the frozen yoghurt:
Ingredients:
(makes 6-8 scoops of froyo)
3 cups of regular yoghurt
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon powdered nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon powdered sugar

Method:
1. Empty the yoghurt into a muslin cloth and hang to drain all the water. This can take upto 4 hours. You know the water had drained when the yoghurt emptied out resembles a lump of block of ricotta cheese.
2. Whisk the heavy cream for 5-7 minutes, until it begins to take on the texture of whipped cream.
3. Add the yoghurt, nutmeg, vanilla and sugar to this and whisk for a few more minutes to a smooth consistency.
4. Put this mixture away in the freezer for a couple of hours.
5. Take it out after a couple of hours and give it a good mix again.
6. Flash freeze it for another hour.
7. Take it out again and mix well. Mixing it a few times over prevents crystallization.
8. Freeze it one last time for an hour, before serving.
9. If you plan to freeze it overnight, leave it out at room temperature for a few minutes before serving the following day.

Leave a Reply

