Fruit Fest

It was @yashot‘s birthday yesterday. And I wanted to bake him a cake. I think my marble cake recipe has become by go-to recipe for a simple decent cake. And then, I add fruit to it, to suit my need.

DSC_0815

I chopped up an apple, this time around and threw it into the cake batter.

I also had a jar of plum jam I wanted to use. So I boiled some water, added a couple of tablespoons of the plum jam and let it simmer for a few minutes. Following that, I thinly sliced a plum and let the slices poach in the syrup I had just made.

I also put together some frosting. If you’ve read my cake adventures before, you’ll know I’m not a fan of frosting at all. But here’s the thing – a colleague brought in a cake to work on Friday because it was our boss’ birthday. It was an absolutely awesome carrot cake. And she did a cream cheese frosting. She says she added a little bit of orange zest to it. And while I still did think it was too sweet, it gave me an idea for the frosting for my cake.

I’ll only write the recipe for the frosting here, because the cake, well, it’s a fairly basic recipe that I follow. I’ve already briefly written about how I worked the fruit into it and some more fruit for the top. And all that really remains is the bit where I tell you how I made the frosting. I might want to add, here, that I was mighty pleased with how it turned out.

Ingredients:
(makes enough for a 9 inch round, single layer cake)
100-125 grams icing sugar
50 grams unsalted butter, at room temperature
2-3 tablespoons milk
Zest of half an orange
Juice of half an orange
1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
Yellow/Orange food colouring

Method:
Whip all the ingredients together about about 7-10 minutes continuously. (I used an electrical hand mixer for the purpose.)

The frosting tasted great. It was just the right amount of sweet. And it had the sour and the bitter from the orange. I think that complemented the general sweetness of the cake and the apples in it.

We ate only about half of it and Yasho asked me to bring the rest of it back home. I’d like to believe that the birthday boy liked the cake. Because I quite did.

DSC_0813

DSC_0805
(that’s the cake with the frosting and only some of the plums put on, in the refrigerator)

2 thoughts on “Fruit Fest

Leave a Reply

