Sunny’s – Lavelle Road

I was at Sunny’s last afternoon with the oh-so-famous-and-utterly-desirable @aadisht.

I’d been to Sunny’s one time in October 2012, but all I remember is being very drunk, eating some amazing Norwegian Salmon and almost making out with a dog.

This time around, it was different. A lot of great food and an extremely fun afternoon with Aadisht, who seemed yappier than the last time I met him. And that is a good thing.

I also realized that I stopped doing restaurant reviews. I have no idea why that happened. At one point, I didn’t feel qualified enough to post reviews about food, primarily because I have no formal training in and knowledge of food, in general, and the F&B industry, in particular.

But why miss photo opps? And why stop writing about good food altogether, right?

We started with a couple of good beers – a Snake Dog IPA, which I hadn’t had since 2010, if I remember correctly and a St. Rogue Dead Guy Ale. We also ordered some crab-cakes which took about 45 minutes to arrive and which weren’t even that great, to be honest.

DSC_0628

There was a round of baked brie with roasted almonds followed by some over-indulgence in baked goat cheese with roasted almonds – I preferred the brie and Aadisht, the goat cheese. The almonds and the slight caramelized texture over both cheese were to die for.

Baked Brie with Roasted Almonds
Baked Brie with Roasted Almonds
Baked Goat Cheese with Roasted Almonds
Baked Goat Cheese with Roasted Almonds

There were a couple of more beers – an Orval and the St. Rogue Mocha Porter (which, by far, is the finest porter you can get in Bangalore/Pune, when available).

That was followed by pork chops which were the special for the day. They came with mashed potatoes, which totally won my heart (and Aadisht’s), all smooth and buttery and absolutely delicious. Aadisht got himself some ham glazed with orange sauce, which he thought was a tad too sweet. Orange sauce always reminds me of the Duck in Orange Sauce at Arthur’s Theme in Pune.

Pork Chops
Pork Chops
Glazed Ham with Orange Sauce
Glazed Ham with Orange Sauce

Either we were having a brilliant afternoon, or our appetites reached a whole new level of humongous because we proceeded to order dessert. I got a piece of Barbara’s Ganache Tart and Aadisht ordered a lemon poppy-seed cake. They didn’t have the cake, so he settled for a hazelnut chocolate mousse instead. That ganache tart, it was the most decadent thing I’ve had in a while. And every time I eat good dessert, of late, I get all mopey about how I don’t really bake as much or as well as I used to.

The Ganache Tart (left) and the Hazelnut Chocolate Mousse (right)
The Ganache Tart (left) and the Hazelnut Chocolate Mousse (right)

Sunny’s is expensive. The international beers are priced at Rs 450/- a bottle and entrees range between Rs 400/- and Rs 700/-. We paid Rs 5600/- last afternoon, which is a bomb! But then, one doesn’t do awesome lunches such as these all the time, right? And splurging every once in a while is completely legitimate. Besides, I hadn’t been to a posh place for lunch/dinner since March and I think I totally deserved it. Heh.

A quick recap of the food and the experience at Sunny’s:
Food: 5/5
Service: 3/5
Ambience: 3/5 (I prefer outdoor seating, but I think they didn’t have tables laid out this time around owing to the rains)

One thought on “Sunny’s – Lavelle Road

Leave a Reply

