Chermoula Prawns

I tried my own version of Moroccan Chermoula prawns the other evening. Another one of those when you want to throw together a bunch of stuff you have in your refrigetor to make something that’s quite different from regular fare.

I’d been thinking of making something that had two components that were vastly different from one another. And this came to me one Sunday afternoon.

I read up recipes for Chermoula marinade, online and played around with it to create something that tasted quite like the Chermoula Prawns I’d had with Ma at Fava.

Most recipes I looked up were a combination of cumin and coriander powder, red chillies, onions, garlic, coriander and lemon. Here’s my version:

Ingredients:
1 medium sized onion, finely chopped
3-4 garlic cloves, crushed
1 teaspoon harissa
Juice of 1 lemon
Oil to cook
A handful of coriander leaves
12-15 medium sized prawns

Method:
1. Heat the oil in a skillet. Saute the onions and garlic until lightly browned.
2. Mix in the harissa and the lemon and give it a quick stir.
3. Transfer to a blender and add the coriander leaves and a little bit of red food colour, if you like. Blend to a paste.
4. Stick the prawns lengthwise in skewers and coat with the marinade. Set the prawns aside for about 30 minutes.
5. Then grill them on a conventional outdoor grill or at the highest setting in your oven, until done.

I ate these with some gnocchi I made in a spiced coconut sauce.

I was pleasantly surprised at how good the combination tasted. I want to do fusion cuisines, maybe. Some day soon. And make it a 4-5 week long project – by which I mean a 4-5 recipes, or at best 8, because I cook lavish pretty much only once a week. I didn’t really have much success with that Potluck thing. Maybe I should just find myself a boyfriend who likes trying all the possible food I can think of cooking… or is at least willing to try it. Heh.

P1030301_resized

2 thoughts on “Chermoula Prawns

Leave a Reply

