Lemon and Herb Grilled Chicken with Roasted Red Pepper Aioli

Sounds fancy, doesn’t it? The great and very adorable(If I get killed, you know who did it!) @yashot was home for dinner last night. I have come to enjoy how we’ve re-kindled our friendship from undergraduate school, after my move to Bangalore. I loved Siddharth and Yash to bits through undergrad. And I hated them just as much. But, it makes me immensely happy to be able to hang out with them, at will (for most part) now. In Bangalore. *wipes tears*

May be I should’ve taken up Theatre. Why am I cooking and feeding the whole world and their uncle, again?

Oh, well.

Yash brought some wine, a Shiraz for himself and a Chenin Blanc for me. And happy times were had.

We started off with some hummus and whole-wheat pita. And when we fell short of pita, we ate the hummus with some khakhra. Being Gujju has always had it’s perks.

DSC_0580

Earlier in the evening, I roasted some red peppers and mashed them up, mixed them with some mayo and garlic and made some pretty delicious aioli, quite on the lines of this recipe.

DSC_0584

For the Chicken:
Ingredients:
Boneless chicken breasts, butterflied or cut in manageable pieces (I used 2 pieces and cut each into half, to yield 4, in all)
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon fresh ground black pepper
1 tablespoon freshly chopped rosemary (or 1/2 tablespoon dried rosemary)
Juice of 2 limes

Method:
1. Marinate the chicken in the spices for about an hour.
2. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.
3. Cook the chicken for about 20 minutes, in grill mode, flipping it over half way through.

Notes:
1. I overcooked the chicken by about 5 minutes or so, and it got a little dry. In my defense, we were having a good time gossiping and drinking wine and eating hummus. The chicken still tasted great, especially the peppery crust. But I wish I could’ve “salvaged” it from the oven while it was still really juicy.
2. If you have the conventional grill with charcoal, feel free to use it. I’m sure the charring would add a beautiful flavour to the chicken.

For the Aioli:
For the uninitiated, aioli is garlic mayonnaise. You can make the mayonnaise from scratch, by using whisked egg yolks, vinegar, lemon juice, vegetable oil and water. But I had a small jar of mayonnaise at home, from my fish-and-chips lunch, one afternoon. And it made best sense to use this.

Ingredients:
1 clove garlic
2 medium sized red peppers
1 cup mayonnaise
1 tsp chopped fresh parsley (or 1/2 tsp dried parsley)
A pinch of red chilli powder (cayenne pepper)
A pinch of crushed black pepper
Salt, to taste, if at all

Method:
1. Poke holes into the red peppers using a fork, in 3-4 places and roast the peppers on the gase stove (or an open flame) for a few minutes until they are mildly charred and have softened.
2. De-seed the peppers and give them a quick whir in the blender, to ensure that they are still chunky and not entirely a paste.
3. Mix half the mayonnaise with the peppers. Taste this. If you think it feels creamy and sweet enough, you can stop right here. Else, you can go ahead and add as much mayonnaise as you like.
4. Mix in the herbs and spices – the red chilli powder, the black pepper and the parsley, followed by the crushed garlic. Set aside to chill.
5. Plate it with the chicken, while serving.

Notes:
To be honest, I didn’t use measures for this recipe. I just tasted it along the way, keeping in mind that the chicken would be lemony-peppery and that I’d probably like a sweet and tangy touch to the sauce.

2 thoughts on “Lemon and Herb Grilled Chicken with Roasted Red Pepper Aioli

    • cookydoh

      Yep. Super easy! ๐Ÿ™‚

      And you can pair it with pesto sauce maybe (instead of a mayonnaise dip), or something similar, if you want to go healthy all the way. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

