Marble Cake

In an endeavour to prove wrong the wise words of the author’s mother, “People in love bake the world’s best cupcakes and cookies… And people with pent up anger bake amazing bread”, the author set out on a mission to fix her day-long lousy headache AND bake a cake.

And it turned out fabulous. Her first entirely (well, almost) successful baking experiment after having moved to Bangalore.

I say “well, almost” because I own a cake-pan with a ring that can be removed from the base. And I had some of the cake batter seep through the points where the ring meets the base, and fall onto the heating coils inside my oven, and send mad fumes out of my oven. Hee. That was fun. Especially because I was making palak paneer AND vegetable pulao alongside. Yes, we’re goddesses. With three pairs of arms. Because in the end, all three edible items were not only plain edible, but also delicious. *smug*

I don’t know what point in the day I decided to bake a cake. My head was spinning. I was feeling terribly low for stupid reasons. And I was fasting. And I think all that put together called for some severe feel good. How the marble cake idea came to my head, I can’t say. I looked up a recipe. And decided to go with a Sanjeev Kapoor recipe that I found here.

DSC_0566

Ingredients:
(Makes a 9″ round cake)
2 cups all purpose flour (good ol’ maida)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/4 cup powdered sugar
A pinch of salt
1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup milk
2-3 tablespoons cocoa powder

Note:
I used a 100g slab of Amul (salted) butter and didn’t add the pinch of salt that the original recipe calls for. The cake turned out excellent, even with the improvisation.

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 180C.
2. Grease a cake pan with some butter.
3. In a large mixing bowl, add the flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, butter, eggs, vanilla essence and milk. Mix the ingredients thoroughly, first with a spatula or spoon to incorporate them into one another.
4. Then, beat the mixture with an electric mixer (or vigorously by hand) at medium speed for about two minutes until smooth.
5. Pour half to three-fourth of the batter into your cake pan.
6. Stir the cocoa powder into this remaining batter. You can add more cocoa to the batter, or alternately, do half cocoa, half vanilla, depending on how chocolate-y you want your cake.
7. Drop the cocoa batter over the white batter, one (large) spoonful at a time.
8. Then, using a knife, swirl the cocoa batter into the white batter to give it a marble effect.
9. Bake for thirty to forty minutes, or until a knife inserted into the cake center comes through clean. 10. Remove from the oven and transfer to a wire rack to cool.

DSC_0570

So, I brought the cake in to work this morning, and coolly sent out an email with the subject “Cake at my desk [eom]”, in the hope that the whole world and their uncle would charge in to eat my oh-so-lovely-first-time-in-a-long-time-successful-marble-cake. Nope. Nothing. Mild heartbreak.

Forty five minutes later.

It’s gone.

And me, I’m bloody pleased!

Talk around lunch time involves a “Hey, you owe us another cake, just by the way. Because you let [software engineer guy] eat half of it.”

What can I say! I’m all smiles!

(No fancy cameras were used in the photographs for this recipe. NOW YOU KNOW WHY THEY SUCK!)

3 thoughts on “Marble Cake

Leave a Reply

