Meenum Manga Karri (Fish and Raw Mango Curry)

Here’s another recipe I tried from The Suriani Kitchen. Any fish of your choice, filleted into pieces big enough to go into a curry. And raw mangoes.

(I swear I clicked a picture of the curry, but it’s not on my phone anymore. And it’s not in my sent items or anywhere! Woe be gone! Hai ri vidambana!!)

The recipe calls for a cup of sliced raw mango(es). However, I think a raw-mango-puree would’ve worked better. When you cook the mango, it does get soft and mushy, but I didn’t quite enjoy the tiny bits/chunks of mango along with the pieces of fish. The puree would possibly ensure more homogeneity and uniform texture.

This is a thin curry. I think it’d go best with steamed rice. Or like I make my rice, throw in a star anise, a couple of cloves and some cardamom. Maybe even a stick of cinnamon. A blob of ghee. And pressure cook the rice just the way you normally would.

Ingredients:
(Serves 2)
Curry:
2 tablespoons oil
1/2 cup sliced shallots
1/2 teaspoon fenugreek (methi) seeds
8 curry leaves
4 cups water
500 grams fish fillets, cut into thick slices
1 cup sliced, sour, green mango
1 teaspoon salt

Coconut Paste:
(Grind to a smooth paste)
1 cup grated fresh coconut
1 tablespoon chilli powder
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
2 green chillies
1 teaspoon chopped fresh ginger
8 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 cup water

Method:
1. Heat the oil in a pot, add the shallots and fry for 2 to 3 minutes, until they are lightly browned.
2. Add the fenugreek seeds and curry leaves and saute for 1 minute.
3. Add the coconut paste and fry until the oil rises to the top.
4. Then add the water, the fish, the mango and the salt. Simmer over low heat for 5 minutes or until the fish is cooked.

The evening I made this curry, I realized that Indian cooking uses a lot of ingredients. A bunch of herbs, dry spices, raw ingredients… all coming together to make a really delicious dish. If I had only a second to answer and someone asked me to name a savoury Indian dish which used only one basic spice, I don’t think I’d have an answer.

But then, think of the following four ingredients: raw mangoes, lime, kokum, tamarind. All four impart a basic tangy flavour to any dish they’re added to. Yet, all four are so distinct. And that very thought left me quite amazed. It did.

Update:
April 8th, 2013
My phone has been acting up. And magically, the lost photograph has surfaced. Here it is.
DSC_0431

Leave a Reply

