Rosemary Lemon Sugar Cookies

No gas connection.
No mixer-grinder.
No powdered sugar.
No measuring cups and spoons.
No baking mitt or baking tray.

And I *still* set out to bake cookies. At least I had the oven. Heh.

They tasted pretty good, the cookies. The texture wasn’t quite right, though. They were kind of heavy on flour. And I could taste the sugar granules, which ideally wouldn’t be there, had I used powdered sugar, as the recipe suggests.

That doesn’t stop me from posting the recipe. So, I will. It’s worth a shot if you do it right, y’know. I was just over-ambitious.

DSC_0402

Recipe below, followed to the tee, from here.
Because following to the tee means assuming two handfuls is a cup full. And the spoon I use in my coffee mug every morning is a tea spoon.
And oh, no vanilla essence in the four stores near my house.

Ah, also, the recipe calls for baking soda and cream of tartar. The combination can be substituted with baking powder, in a ratio mentioned in an older post

(I’ve revised the recipe to what I would’ve done had I had everything in place. I’m pretty sure it’ll work fine. The only things off, when I actually baked these cookies were that
(a) I used granulated sugar entirely, instead of powdered sugar because I didn’t have a mixer-grinder and couldn’t find powdered sugar in the stores nearby.
(b) I didn’t use any vanilla essence because I couldn’t find any.
(c) I used approximate measure because I didn’t have measuring equipment.)

Ingredients:
Yield: 24-30 cookies
For the cookie dough:
1/2 cup (1 stick) salted butter, softened
1 cup powdered sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup oil
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon rosemary (conveniently used store-bought dried rosemary)

For the cookie coating:
1/2 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary
zest of 1 lemon
1/4 cup granulated sugar

Method:
1. Cream the butter and the powdered sugar until smooth.
2. Add the egg and beat well, until a homogeneous mixture is obtained.
3. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, the salt, the baking powder and the rosemary.
4. Add half the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and combine well.
5. Add the vanilla essence and the oil, at this stage.
6. Add the remaining flour mixture and mix to a smooth (and a little sticky) dough.
7. Cover the dough in cling wrap and let it chill for anywhere between thirty minutes to a couple of hours. This aids easy handling, when rolling out your cookies.
8. Preheat the oven to 175 degrees Celsius and line your baking tray with parchment paper.
9. In a small dish, mix together the rosemary, granulated sugar and the lemon zest.
10. Make little balls of the cookie dough and roll them in this sugar mixture.
11. Bake the cookies for about 10-12 minutes.
12. Let them cool before storing them or eating them.

In other news, I’ve quite taken to keeping a little vase of fresh flowers on my dining table. I enter the home to happiness that way.

Leave a Reply

