Vladivardrak

Flavoured cocktails are fun to make. We tried a lemon and ginger drink the other day, with vodka. And it turned out pretty fucking fantastic.

I didn’t know what to call it. And this seems like the only thing I can call it now.

My father has taken to drinking Vladivar or I think that’s what it is called. I don’t seem to like Smirnoff any more because it gives me Romanov-based-college-days hangovers. We usually have a bottle of Eristoff at home, which I quite like. And Absolut, when I’m out for dinner because I like portraying a level of poshness and I’m not sure I can afford Grey Goose yet.

So yes, Vladivar and freshly grated ginger and a dash of lime. Voila!

Ingredients:
60 ml vodka
Half a lime
An inch of garlic, chopped into small pieces
Salt and sugar to taste

Method:
1. Muddle the lime, the ginger, a teensy bit of salt and some sugar with the vodka.
2. Pour into a glass and top with soda water (or just plain water) and ice.
3. Garnish with a wedge of lime.

Aah, look at me showing off with the books in the back: Kitchen Confidential and Greatest Beers of the World and James Frey and ooooh… Harry Potter! Wheeee! Ok. Go get drunk!

2 thoughts on “Vladivardrak

Leave a Reply

