Apple Cupcakes

@subir86 linked me to this brilliant website one Sunday afternoon.
http://mingmakescupcakes.yolasite.com/

I was seeing @purisubzi for lunch that afternoon and had only limited time to bake. I thought I should take him something. I never did. But I’ll get to that later.

And then, everybody knows I think cupcakes are better off as muffins, rather without the frosting. So I got down to baking.

Ingredients:
(Makes 12)
1. 1 cup flour
2. 1 tsp baking soda
3. 1/2 tsp salt
4. 1 tsp cinnamon
5. 1/2 tsp nutmeg
6. pinch of cloves
7. 1 cup powdered sugar
8. 1 egg
9. 1/4 cup oil
10. 2 cups peeled, diced apples or grated (That works out to about 2 and half medium sized apples… you can use the other half for garnish or eat it while you bake… Eating while i cook is something I cannot resist!)

Method:
1. Mix all the dry ingredients (except sugar) in a bowl: flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.
2. In a separate bowl, beat together sugar, egg and oil.
3. Add the apples to the mixture above.
4. Now, add the flour mixture to this and mix well.
5. Bake at 350 F (175 degrees celsius) for 30 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.

My two cents:
Un: The recipe online calls for diced apples, and I would suggest the cubes be really small, a half centimeter in width or so. But better than that, would be to grate the apples. Also, if you plan to cut the apples before hand, a few minutes before beginning to mix the ingredients and all of that, I would suggest you place the diced/grated apples in a bowl of water with a dash of lime added to it. This prevents the apples from turning brown.

Dos:The consistency of the mixture is more like cookie dough and not as cake-batter-y, as you might anticipate.

Cake battery. *giggle*

When I took them out of the oven, it was close to 2 pm. And my mother seemed concerned as to why I hadn’t left for lunch yet. So, mum, grandmum and I shared an extremely hot cupcake – to check if it tasted alright. It tasted strictly alright. I was a tad disappointed. @purisubzi deserved some of my more successful recipes, I thought. So I went off to see him without baked goodies.

That evening, my dad brought home some vanilla ice cream. We heated the cupcakes in the microwave, for about 30 seconds per 4 cupcakes. And served them with a scoop of ice cream, a sprinkle of cinnamon and a thin slice of the apple. And *that* combination was divine. Just that one word.

And yay! We forgot to take pictures. I know, I suck. If I were a boy, I would’ve said I deserve a kick in the nuts. No, really. I would’ve said so. Because I’m just always so hungry that I never take pictures. But I’ll tell you what? I *will* bake this weekend. And throw in a half dozen apple cupcakes too. And take pictures this time around. God promise!

P.S.: That website I linked you to above… the picture for the apple cupcake… Mine looked just as good, without the frosting and with some ice cream.

Leave a Reply

