Chocolate Banana Bread

Mum’s cousin posted a few pictures of some banana (chocolate) bread he had baked, on facebook. And the mother, being the mother and mildly competitive, asked me to make something like it. She also gave me the url to the recipe.

So, Saturday afternoon, I made banana (chocolate) bread.

We don’t own praline. We probably get none in our little village. And we speak no French. So I’ll just call the bread Chocolate Banana Bread.

The bananas I had were ripe. Not overly ripe. So I did a real good job with mashing them up. Besides, over ripe bananas? Eeeeks. Yeah, I get it – that’s why the recipe. But I can’t imagine myself prodding a spoon into over ripe bananas, anyway! More eeeks! Just a suggestion, in case you have hang ups like I do. Hee.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate,
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons butter, softened
3/4 cup powdered sugar
3 eggs
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
2 large bananas, ripe and mashed
A handful pistachios, coarsely chopped

Method:
1. Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees C.
2. Butter a loaf pan and set aside.
3. Melt the chocolate using a double boiler or my ultra-smart technique from previous blog posts. Bring it down to room temperature.
4. Cream the butter and the sugar, until fluffy.
5. Gradually add the eggs. Mix thoroughly and to uniformity.
6. Sift the flour, the baking powder and the cocoa powder and fold into the the wet ingredients.
7. Mash the bananas and add to the mixture.
8. Fold in the molten chocolate.
9. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and top one with pistachios.
10. Bake for about 30-45 minutes or until a toothpick/knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.
11. Cool the loaf completely before trying to turn it over to empty it out.

You know when I said you should bring the chocolate down to room temperature? A disaster that resulted during a previous baking experience involved me adding hot chocolate to an egg mixture and the egg cooking itself to glory in the heat. So I had scrambled eggs with chocolate. Or something like that.

Among the more-than-two cents that I usually throw in, it’s like tea-cake. Not “bread” bread. You can’t put it in a toaster and then dunk into your cup of tea (mug of coffee). But it’s tasty. Very very tasty. A little bit of internet browsing tells me that there is a variety of yeast-based banana breads too. Those should be the toaster kind. What fun, the thought. *giggle*

It could do with less chocolate, or well, more banana. So a re-attempt on the recipe might involve 3 bananas and 1/4 cup molten chocolate, instead of what the recipe calls for.

Very moist. And I can’t stress enough on the taste factor. I even gave @Nikxtwits some, because he’s cute, like that. And he looks like the kind of kid you’d want to bake banana bread for. He claims he liked it. As did his parents.

My mum LOVED it. My grandmum loved it too. My dad appreciated it. And the truth about the love will be out only if they ask me to make it again when guests are over. I’ll let you know then, again.

Leave a Reply

