Butterscotch Mousse Cake

The butterscotch mousse from Domino’s last night was too sweet, in my opinion. And yours truly hadn’t invested in any time in dessert-making this weekend.

At about 6 pm, just before I set off with the dog for his evening walk, my Dad entered the scene and asked what was for dinner. Having been told the menu, he asked, “Nothing for dessert?” And I, in turn, asked if he’d like to eat some of the butterscotch mousse from last night. He said he would, as long as it wasn’t store bought. And that could mean only one thing.

Given that the demand for dessert came fairly late on a Sunday evening, I decided to take a few short cuts. So, well, this isn’t traditional butterscotch mousse cake. But I guess it’s a decent enough quick fix dessert.

There are five parts to this recipe. Five whole parts, and everything done in an hour. Let me explain.

Part 1:
The Butterscotch:
Typically, here’s what goes into butterscotch sauce: brown sugar, cream and butter.

I didn’t have brown sugar, so I used a mixture of white sugar and molasses and it worked just fine. And I didn’t use heavy cream either, because enough of that was going into the whipping cream. So I worked around the usual recipe and the results were good.

The ingredients and the recipe for a regular dulce de leche sauce or butterscotch sauce or caramel sauce or whatever else you might want to call it are here.

And here’s what I did.

Ingredients:
3 tablespoons white sugar
3 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons molasses

Right. So, I didn’t use a double boiler to melt the sugar because I’m lazy. And I was looking for a quick fix, right?

Method:
1. Melt the butter in a saucepan.
2. Add the sugar to it and stir, so that the sugar begins to melt but ensuring it doesn’t get burnt. You can do this on a low flame, or periodically take the pan off the flame while you stir.
3. Add in the molasses and stir further.
4. What you get is a thick, gooey mix, not quite the consistency of butterscotch. You didn’t add any cream, remember?
5. Let it cool. Put it in the freezer if you want it to cool quicker, but only once it has come down to room temperature.

It begins to take on a crumbly texture. Taste it, if you like. Tasted fine to me.

Part 2:
The Chocolate Cake
Again, I was looking for a quick fix. So I used the chocolate cake in a mug recipe I’ve tried before.

Any good chocolate cake recipe should work, if you have the time and the inclination.

Part 3:
The Whipping Cream:
I used a packet of store bought Blue Bird Whipped cream. And followed the instructions. 90 ml chilled water plus the contents of the packet, beaten for 7 minutes to give whipped cream. I put that away in the refrigerator.

If you want to go about the long way, here’s what you do:
Ingredients:
1 cup of heavy cream
1 tablespoon powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method:
1. Beat the heavy cream at medium speed for a few minutes until it becomes fluffy.
2. Add the sugar and the vanilla and beat for a couple of minutes more at high speed.
3. Whip all of those together for about 10 minutes, until fluffy.

Part 4:
The Kahlua:
Ingredients:
60 ml kahlua
1 sachet instant coffee
1 cup water

Method:
1. Mix the ingredients together.

Part 5:
The Assembly:
1. Cut the cake into thin, manageable slices.
2. Dip them in the kahlua solution for a second or too, until they have soaked in the liquid but are not soggy.
3. Lay them out at the bottom of your serving bowl/dish/tray/cups.
4. Get out the whipping cream. Add the butterscotch crumble to it along with nuts (of your choice and if you like them in the dessert) and stir well.
5. Layer the butterscotch cream over the cake.
6. Add another layer of soaked cake, followed by the butterscotch cream.
7. Make it look fancy, if you like it that way, with some garnish – chocolate shavings or nuts or whatever else you please.
8. Put it away in the refrigerator until it’s time for dessert.

I did all of that in an hour. I promise. And the family loved it. It tasted just as good (or as bad) as the Butterscotch Mousse cake from Domino’s.

As for me, I figured I’m not a butterscotch person, after all. šŸ™‚

No, no pictures of a slice of the stuff. The family devoured it. And I’m not lying.

Leave a Reply

