Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Alright. I didn’t frost them. Because I couldn’t find heavy cream or the little packet of Bluebird Whipped Cream anywhere here. I’m not too fond of the super sweet frosting that people usually use. So I stick to good old whipped cream, flavoured. Anyway, I tried at a half dozen shops. I promise you. I finally picked some up last week at Dorabjee’s. And I DO plan to bake again tomorrow. So yes, everything shall be put to use. As shall the gouda that I bought last week. With wine. Tonight. *grin*

So yes, these were baked two weeks ago. I’ve been getting used to the work routine, and haven’t really posted on the blog. Work hours are 10 am to 7 pm. I leave home at about 9:30 am. And I’m usually home only around 8:30 pm, when it’s dinner time. And then some TV. And then the daily drive with the canine. All that. I have not had time to write. Or even if I’ve had the time, I’ve just done other things.

Moving on.

Here is where I found this cupcake recipe.

Ingredients:
(for 16 cupcakes)
2 1/2 cup cake flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter
1 1/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/3 cup + 2 tbsp cream (I used malai. You can use sour cream too)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Crushed oreos (I used 16. About one per cupcake. Seems pretty fair to me.)

I made 20 cupcakes. And they were all gone in one evening. They’re goooood. Trust me.

An aside on cake flour:
1 cup cake flour = 3/4 cup sifted bleached all-purpose flour + 2 tablespoons corn flour
16 tbsp = 12 tbsp + 2 tbsp
Yeah, 12 plus 2 is not 16. So what I do is put in 2 tablespoons of cornflour into a single cup measure. And top it up with all purpose flour.

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 350Ā°F (180Ā°C).
2. Sift the flour, the salt and the baking soda.
3. Cream the butter and the sugar. Now add the eggs one at a time and mix well. Add the cream and the vanilla to this.
4. Add the flour mixture to the wet mixture and stir until combined.
5. Mix in the crushed oreos.
6. Line the cupcake tray with cupcake liners and fill them to about three-fourth. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until done.

I really badly wanted to do a whipped cream topping and stick in half an oreo. It would have looked so pretty! But village! Hmmmph!

So I guess I should make do with calling what I baked a muffin. And not a cupcake.

I gave four each to Kapur and Dave. My mum’s friend stopped by that evening and had one. And took four home for her family. She didn’t tell her daughter they were home-baked. And when the daughter figured I’d made them, she called to tell me how much she loved them. Heehee. I had one. Grand dad, mum and dog had one each. Dad and grandmum shared the rest.

Sometime early last week, Kapur bought an oreo muffin at Pune Baking Company which runs at The Marriott, here. And she said my cupcake/muffin was better. Yay! I’ve been gloating in the glory of how good those cupcakes turned out, ever since.

3 thoughts on “Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

  1. Anita Menon

    I love your easy going style of writing. So close to home šŸ™‚

    lovely cup cakes. Might make them if I remember buying oreos in my next grocery shopping trip. Will top it with whipped cream and half an oreo too šŸ™‚

    • CookyDoh

      Thanks a ton! šŸ™‚

      Oooh, the oreo cupcakes are most definitely worth a shot. šŸ™‚

      Also, your post “Of Pizzas and Marriages” is lying in my to-red list. I’ve just been binge drinking the weekend and so busy with work today. I hope to get down to reading it soon.

  2. Shruti

    I love these! Tried them about 5 months back and they were amazing. I’m going to give it a shot again with Buttercream frosting because I’ve been craving them so bad! Mhmm.

Leave a Reply

