Grilled fish

This is a zero oil recipe. Which is why I love it. It’s something my mum and I used to cook up when I was younger. Here in Pune, we usually use the charcoal grill. But in Raleigh, where I cooked this for the first (and only) time by myself, I used the oven.

My last week in Raleigh, I went to the Asian Market and bought fresh fish and cooked it with Indian masalas. I was craving pomfret. And the closest deal I got was pompano. Turns out pomfret are a different kind of fish altogether. But what is sold as pomfret at fish markets in India is actually a variety of pompano (or butterfish).

Ingredients:
2 whole pompano fish, washed and cleaned
red chilli powder
turmeric powder
garam masala (or tandoori masala, for added flavour)
salt
juice of a couple of limes

Method:
1. Make cuts on the body of the fish, to aid proper marination. Two or three cuts on each side should suffice.
2. Spread the spices and the lime juice liberally on the fish. Let the fish marinate for an hour, at least.
3. Pre heat the oven to 350 F.
4. Wrap the fish in a piece of foil and bake for about 15 minutes. Half way into the cooking process, flip the wrapped fish over, to just be doubly sure that it cooks evenly.
5. Serve with sliced onions and lime.

I’ve never eaten something that takes such little effort, uses under five ingredients and ZERO oil and is still one of the most delicious recipes I’ve come across. And when the fish is fresh (as opposed to the frozen fish I usually used to buy at Food Lion), I’m on a completely different high!

Just a whole fish is worth a sumptuous meal. That, and some wine of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

