Of Simba and Squirt

The Lion King and Finding Nemo are two movies I absolutely LOVE!!!

I still cry in the stampede scene when Mufasa dies. And the following morning, Simba and a dead Mufasa are lying on the barren lands and Simba realizes his father is dead and prods the body of his dead father with his paws and tries to tug at his ears to evoke a response from him. It touches me somewhere inside. I can feel a weight in my heart and it almost hurts, no kidding! I cry when I watch that scene. Every single time.

The young Simba reminds me of my dog, when he was little. And how I’d mother him around. Mufasa reminds me of my mum and everything that she’s willing to do to see me safe. My dog’s a complete nut and he’s six now. My mum is a wonderful lady and I just listened to her for a whole 45 minutes over an international call while she talked her heart out. But yes, The Lion King is undoubtedly one of my most favourite movies. I had even bought an audio cassette of the sound track back in 1994 and I’d listen to it on my walkman. I also BADLY BADLY want to take G to The Lion King Musical on Broadway because he’s a fool and he hasn’t watched the movie yet!!! And a Broadway show! Woah! That’ll be SOOOOO AWESOME!!! Employment must come before a Broadway Musical is watched, however. Uh! But this post isn’t about The Lion King. Or about my unemployment. And I haven’t even written about Finding Nemo yet!

I can say all of Crush’s dialogues and Squirts too! Anyday! Not very many people really even think of the turtles in the Nemo movie. But I LOVE them. With the whole “dude” thing going. In fact, I even remember watching the movie with a friend of mine once, and he asked “So, is that where you picked you dude-thing up from?” Yeah, alright, I say dude a tad too often. But that’s because I’m cool. Heehee. I am, no? *grin*


“Focus dude…”
“He lives!”
Or even better, “Jelly man, meet offspring. Offspring, meet jellyman!”


Geehaahaahaa… “Dad? Did you see that? Did you see what I did?!” Nothing can get cuter!

That said, I hope you have watched the videos. If you have, I like you. If you haven’t, shame on you. Shame on you!

And now, here’s my li’l tribute to The Lion King:

And another one to the turtles in Finding Nemo:

They’re basic short crust cookies, sugar cookies. Basically, your simplest, most basic cookie recipe you have at hand and remember from memory. I used a recipe I’ve used before. The one for the thumb-print cookies? You can find it here, so I won’t bother re-posting.

What I will do, though, is tell you where I got the wonderful ideas from and what other ideas I had and everything else I think I need to tell you about the cookies.

Diamonds for Dessert!! I love her!!! She’s so innovative and full of ideas and really cool ones at that!

You can find her recipes for icebox cookies here.

I didn’t use her cookies recipe, I used my own, one that I had referred on another blog. And one I know G loves, as does everybody else I’ve given those cookies out to. I felt safe sticking with that recipe. One my dough was ready, I broke it into 5 smaller chunks, each of which I coloured with food colouring (the kind you can buy in tubes, 5 tubes in a little box). This was my first time with using food colouring AND making icebox cookies, so I was prepared for some disasters. Errr… I had a few decapitated turtles. And I think I poked a few of my lions blind. But all was well in the end.

Here are some pictures that I took of the coloured dough and whatever best I could do while I moulded the dough.

The coloured dough
Yellow and orange strips placed together and rolled into a single sheet
Rolling the rectangular sheet over the cylindrical center
My lions-to-be
My turtles-to-be (Please excuse the shoddy work on account of this being my first attempt!)
Killing them! One at a time!

Here is a little tutorial, if I may call it that, of how I got the shapes together.

My pride
Make my Bale

Here are some more ideas for icebox cookies I had in my head, but never got down to making. There’s always more cookie-baking.

And SUDDENLY, yes just like that, out of the blue, I think I want to make Angry Birds Ice Box Cookies. Birthdays? Parties? Anyone?

Oh, and before I forget, here’s a quick look at the method:
1. Make your dough, using any basic sugar cookies recipe you like.
2. Colour it.
3. Refrigerate it for about 15 mins, so that it is firm enough to work with.
4. Roll it out into the basic shapes you like/need.
5. Work your way to makes tubes of the shapes you want your cookies to be.
6. Wrap them up in cling-wrap and put them in the refrigerator for about 30-45 minutes.
7. Unwrap the cookies and cut them into slices, about a fourth of an inch thick.
8. Set them out on your baking tray and bake according to the instructions your cookie recipe calls for.
9. Once the cookies are out of the oven, let them cool.
10. Decorate them, putting eyes and whiskers and making shell patterns and sticking on M n M’s or sprinkles or whatever else you might want to do.
11. Take pictures.

Sigh! That’s been a long post. I think I want to watch a movie now. Oh, which reminds me, there’s Rio! Ooooh!!! G! G!! Can we go? Please?!!!

Leave a Reply

