Eggs Benedict

Ingredients:
To poach the eggs:
1. As many eggs as you would like to poach
2. A couple of tea spoons of vinegar
3. A couple of tea spoons of salt
4. A lot of water, to aid cooking

For the Hollandaise Sauce:
5. 1 egg yolk (for every pair of eggs you poach)
6. A couple of table spoons of heavy cream
7. A couple of tea spoons of molten butter
8. Lemon juice, to taste
9. Salt to taste
10. Dired basil, for added flavour

11. Your choice of meat/fish/English muffins/biscuits/patties

Method:
The eggs:
1. In a big pot, set some water to boil. Add the vinegar and the salt. When the water begins to bubble, carefully break an egg into it. A broken yolk is a poached egg ruined.
2. Keep an eye on the egg as it cooks. You might want to gently scoop it out to check if it’s done. The eggs I cooked, took about 5 minutes each to get to the way I like them.

The sauce:
3. Blend the egg yolk, the whipping cream and the salt together.
4. Add the molten butter, in three o four lots, and continue blending.
5. Add some lemon juice and basil and blend one last time before serving.

Notes:
1. Far simpler that everybody makes these out to be. I wonder what the deal is. This was my first time poaching eggs. Barring the first egg, which took awfully long to cook, given the various experiments I tried with it, the other eggs turned out great.
2. The blender technique for the hollandaise isn’t bad at all.
3. Next time around, I will make the fillet of fish or meat too. I used one of those ready-to-cook grilled salmon fillet’s for my eggs. The other egg was served with an absolutely scrumptious black bean cake. I picked the box of black bean cakes up from the grocery store too. Truth is, I was attempting to make the much-dreaded Eggs Benedict for the first time ever. I wanted at least one set of foods to be error-free. Had the eggs been a flop, I’d have made our peace with grilled fish and black bean cakes. May be some cereal. And a sad face.
4. Since this was my first time with poached eggs, I decided to use a method that was deemed to have never failed. The tea cup method. Here’s what they tell you to do. Place a sheet of cling-wrap in a tea-cup. Break your egg into it. Bunch the wrap up over the egg and tie it with a bread-tie. Immerse this into a pot of boiling water. Fail. Complete fail. Malo idea. Muy malo. That’s when I slit the little cling-wrap bag open and let the egg slide into the hot water, to cook itself.
5. Best friend, Miss Singh claims (as does another friend who studies at Berkeley now… yeah yeah… I need to show off…) claims that eggs can also be poached in a microwave. I’ve had an awfully disastrous, messy and stink-worthy experience by making the mistake of trying to boil an egg in the microwave. And I have concluded that eggs can NEVER be cooked in a microwave. Not in my home, at least. So poached eggs, conventional style, are the best.
6. All resources online said the water shouldn’t be too hot. The first egg, the water was possibly just a little under boiling temperature. Bad idea. I cranked up the heat then. And egg #2 onwards, perfect. 🙂
7. That dash of vinegar and the sprinkle of salt are the trick to perfect poached eggs. Trust me. Also, I used balsamic vinegar, because that is the only kind I have at home. I’m not sure if different types of vinegars would yield different results, but this sure worked for me. I picked up mixed greens from Whole Foods the other evening and somehow wished we had used those instead of the lettuce you see here. But Saturday morning, lettuce was all I had. On a side note, I LOVE ARUGULA!!!!
8. Ahem. Speaking of Whole Foods, I didn’t know they sell the most ridiculous kinds of jam. Garlic-Onion being one. I’m Indian, yes. But garlic-onion JAM? *puke* Oh. But they have the world’s finest Pineapple-Basil Gelato. That’s a strange combination too, right? But it’s heavenly!! You MUST try it. You’ll fall in love with it, guaranteed.
9. Back to my eggs. They were superb. The white cooked all the way. The yolk cooked on the outside and runny on the inside.
10. I hate when the white is gooey and under cooked. Even when I’m having my eggs sunny side up. Heh. I poke around the yolk carefully and disperse the white so that it cooks evenly. Luckily, that wasn’t an issue with the poached eggs. Just leaving them like that, sitting around in the boiling water, for a few minutes was all it took.
11. Poached eggs are like soft boiled eggs in every sense. Without the shell, of course. I LOVE soft boiled eggs.
12. I didn’t come across any problems with regard to the yolk in the Hollandaise sauce getting cooked and the butter separating from the egg, so I won’t comment on that. People seem to have had problems in that department. I WILL, though, try making the sauce the conventional way this weekend. My only word of advice would be to not keep the butter too hot. I guess.
13. Let the Hollandaise sauce be the last thing you make. This ensures that the yolk DOES get cooked owing to the warmth of the butter, yet preventing it from getting too cooked and separating from the butter or getting too chunky. In the event calamity strikes, google up a way to re-work your sauce. I LOVE Google too.
14. This post has been about love. Did I mention what G thought of the eggs, when I made them for him? *grin*
15. Every time I write fail, I think of #fail. And wish I was on Twitter again. No, I really do. I’m waiting on a few “life-changing” decisions before I get back there though.

A Black Bean Cake, Garlic Toast, the poached egg and the sauce
Eggs Benedict with Salmon
6 thoughts on “Eggs Benedict

    • Maharani of Gaipajama

      Aaah, alright! Thanks for the tip! I’ll definitely try that out the next time I’m poaching eggs. 🙂

  1. Alisa

    One of my favorite breakfast.I followed you from the foodie blog roll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this eggs benedict widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about recipes for eggs benedict,Thanks!

    • CookyDoh

      Adi, I think. 🙂 Also, hello. And why’re you stalking me? Oh, also. See me on chat. Pliss. I’ll talk to you when I get to work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

