Lime n Lemony Limca

Ok. I’m absolutely at loss for good titles for posts. That probably comes from the fact that I haven’t written a solely personal post or a non-food post in a while.

Clearly, the Indian adverstising industry does a bad job with helping us differentiate between lemon and lime. I love our advertisements though. I think they’r emuch more intelligent and creative than most American commercials. Anyway, moving on.

Here’s the first bit of information I came across, definitely worth a mention, given that I started off with advertising. Limes and Lemons are both acidic citrus fruits that grow on trees. The two fruits can be used in conjunction with each other, most commonly in flavorings for consumer products like soda.

And here’s a link I found online for scientific differences between lemon and lime. I’ve also attached a jpeg file of the same information, below.

The scientific differences and similarities apart, here’s some more stuff I read.

Limes are grown all year round and are usually smaller and sweeter than lemons. I, on the contrary, thought that limes would be more sour (is sourer a word?) than lemons. Alas, I am wrong. Woe be gone! Death unto me! *quietly proceeds to burn in the fires of hell*

*resurrects just as quietly to continue post*

While Wikipedia states that Lemon is Citrus × limon, often given as C. limon, they mention no scientific name for Lime, which strikes as pretty strange to me. However, more prying around the interweb leads me to the discovery that lime can come as several scientific names, depending on the region it is grown in: Citrus aurantiifolia, commonly called the Mexican lime, key lime or bartender’s lime and Citrus latifolia, dubbed the Persian or Tahitian lime were the two varieties I found. Lemon, like I mentioned before, is Citrus LImon
and is a singular species.

Yeah, I'm a sucker for close-ups.

I got quite some information off a couple of links on ehow.com. Maybe they should call themselves ehowwhatwhywhere.com. But that’s just me.

Moving on.

Lemons are yellow and oval in shape, and you should be careful when juicing them to avoid the seeds, which tend to fall out of the fruit. The outer yellow peel contains essential oil that is mainly limonene. Limes are green and circular, and because they are smaller than lemons, they tend to produce less juice per fruit.

Lemons are tart and tend to taste astringent, but they can be combined with other flavors or sugar to produce a pleasant flavor. Like the lime, lemon has a sourish and acidic taste, but when consumed has an alkaline effect in the stomach. Limes tend to have a higher natural sugar content, as well as a higher percentage of citric acid.

As far as the lemon tree and the lime tree go, here’s some important stuff:
The lemon tree can grow in both dry and humid climate, though they need their steady source of water. That is why they grow best ina warm climate with plenty of annual rainfall. They grow to a height of 20 feet or so.

Lime trees, on the other hand, are more sensitive to cold and must be grown in areas with higher steady temperatures, growing to a full height of about 13 feet.

Both trees have similar looking leaves and small, mildly fragrant white flowers.

Apparently, lemon trees are thorny, while lime trees are not. But I don’t have a good enough source to verify that yet.

Just one more difference, and a fairly observable one at that. Fresh squeezed juice of a lime is usually colourless, while that of a lemon has a mild yellow tinge.

Last bit of information: India, with about 16% of the world’s overall lemon and lime output, tops the production list, followed by Mexico (~14.5%), Argentina (~10%), Brazil (~8%) and Spain (~7%). I guess the cuisines of these countries are proof enough for the growth of these fruits.

Bottomline: the flavour and aroma are different but they are interchangeable in cooking.

Oh also, here’s one of those absolutely fabulous songs that I can listen to any time of the day. And I’m not entirely sure whether it’s meant to be a happy song. But I DO know it makes me immensely happy.

I wonder how
I wonder why
Yesterday you told me ’bout the blue blue sky
And all that I can see is just a yellow lemon tree

I’m turning my head up and down
I’m turning turning turning turning turning around
And all that I can see is just another lemon-tree

Ta. Ta da da da da di da da. Ta da da da di da di da da. Ta ta ta da.
*shakes head from side to side and skips away*

Leave a Reply

