On The Border

Name of Restaurant: On The Border
Location: 1102 Walnut Street, Cary, NC 27511

Cuisine: Mexican
Date: 02/17/2011
Time: 8 pm

What we ordered:
1. Chicken Chimichanga
2. Create your own fajita: grilled veggies

We paid:
$30, meal for 2

Rating:
1. Ambience: 8/10
2. Service: 9/10
3. Food: 9/10

Notes:
1. Thursday evening. Starvation. Car at disposal. Drive to eat. πŸ™‚
2. This ended up being an early, quick yet extremely fulfilling dinner. The weather was great and we chose to sit in the patio. In that respect, the ambience was great. Inside, it was very Olive-Garden-esque. We got the complimentary nachos and salsa, which I’ve figured are the papad and chutney of American restaurants.
3. I wasn’t ALL that hungry, when I saw that bowl of nachos arrive, and we decided (for a change) to skip appetizers altogether.
4. Thursday, being Thursday, meant me being vegetarian.
{Insert rant about judging-people-on-the-basis-of-what-they-eat here.}
This portion has been omitted from my food blog because it gets a tad personal in places. Feel free to read the uncensored version on my other blog, if you know the url, that is.
5. So yes, the veggies: green, red and yellow peppers, some zucchini, portobello mushroom, onions and corn, all well grilled, came on a little sizzler plate. With that was a bowl with tortilla wraps. And a plate with some Mexican rice, pinto beans (Rohit insisted that refried beans have meat content!!), sour cream, pico de gallo, guacamole and some salad. It was a LOT of food. But I LOVE fajitas. Especially the make-them-yourself bit. That’s the part Rohit dislikes. πŸ™‚ Yes, I like the meat ones better. But Thursdays and Thursdays and I’m an obedient child, like that.
6. G ordered a super cheesy chicken chimichanga. A humungous fried burrito, stuffed with chicken, pico de gallo and Mexican rice, drizzled (no… floating lavishly) in whjat looked like a truck full of queso. Served with refried beans and some more queso. Boy, did he enjoy, or what? And di he complain after that for having eaten too much cheese? Ahem!

7. Guacamole Live! We didn’t order any. But I thought the concept was quite cute. They charge a whole $2.50 more for the Guacamole Live! over the regular guacamole. So, the Live! version is where they bring in a bowl of mashed avocados to your table. And also set up little bowls of tomatoes, jalapenos, cilantro and red onions and keep in handy a lime, for fresh lime juice. And then, they make to order. I’m wondering what the guacamole will turn out like, if the waiter is clumsy or lacks tact: either not mixing the ingredients in well enough or making a complete mess at your table. I pride myself in guac making. So I’m just wary of anyone else who makes it in front of me. Alright, alright. I’m not so high strung. But c’mon, I know a ton of people who will vouch for my guac making skills. *grin*
8. I’d always wanted to write an aside someday, well two: one about Pico De Gallo vs Salsa and the other being the difference between lime and lemon. This seems like the perfect opportunity for me to do so. Two short posts coming up!

Leave a Reply

