Jack Astor’s

Name of Restaurant: Jack Astors
Location: 2300 Walnut Street, Cary, NC 27518

Cuisine: Mixed
Date: 01/22/2010
Time: 10 pm

What we ordered:
Food:
1. Thai Chicken Summer Rolls
2. Lobster and Crab Dip
3. Complimentary Pan of Bread
4. Jambalaya
5. Mango-Chipotle Salmon
6. Pad thai Chicken
Cocktails:
7. Kat’s Rumance
8. Blue Lemon Martini
9. Ivy’s Beantini
10. Tom Fritter’s Killer Cool Ade

We paid:
$106, with gracious gratuity

Rating:
1. Ambience: 9/10
2. Service: 8/10
3. Food: 8/10

Notes:
1. It was a fairly late dinner. A failed visit to The Home Depot in an attempt to cut some plexiglas (they don’t help you cut it and don’t do it themselves either) followed by some shopping at Old Navy. K-man and his pretty belle and me at Jack Astor’s. The table was covered with brown paper. The waiter asked us if it was our first time and wrote V=3 and 9:50 pm on our table and ran off. We figured only later that it meant 3 virgins and we were eligible for some complimentary bread.
2. The bread… Oooooh! That bread! Baked in a deep dish pan and drizzled with butter and spices. It was so fluffy, so rich, it almost melted in my mouth. I could’ve had just that and a bunch of cocktails, really. No kidding.
3. The Summer Rolls weren’t all that great. They were essentially a bunch of wraps made from rice paper and served cold. So they felt more like salad in paper, than anything else. Little shred of spicy chicken with carrots, cucumbers, peppers, lettuce and rice noodles, all wrapped together tightly in rice paper. The dipping sauce was tasty though – let’s say a cross between imli chutney and road-side-schezwan sauce.
4. The lobster and crab dip was served with pita bread and nachos, the blue ones that Tostitos makes. Good stuff. Creamy and loaded with crabmeat, mushrooms and onions. Those flavours came through brilliantly, though the description online says the dip also has peppers and lobster. 🙂 This and spinach-artichoke dip. Man! I need to try these recipes at home sometime soon, I do.
5. Bella ordered the Jambalaya which looked as Jambalaya-ey as any Jambalaya should look and must’ve tasted pretty fucking fine too. Please refer relevant blog posts for more on Jambalaya.
6. K-man played safe and got the Pad Thai. Rice noodles, bean sprouts, spring onions, peanut sauce. Always good.
7. The Mango Chipotle Salmon that I got was a new dish on their menu and seemed like it was worth a shot. Except for the boiled veggies and plain boiled rice, the dish was FANTASTIC! So yes, the fish was fabulous. The rice and veggies, errr.. let’s just say they were my quota of non-protein nutrients for the day. Yellow mango. India mango. Sweet. Delicious. I swear I could taste it. It was ‘aam’ and not ‘kairi.’ That and a spicy chipotle sauce. The combination blew my mind. It did. I wish they’d given me another chunk of fish instead of the rice and veggies. In my usual spirit of saving-the-best-for-last, the rice and the veggies were done in a few minutes, following which I savoured the fish. Devoured it, even.
8. The cocktails were potent.
Bella could barely even make it half way through hers. The Killer Cool Ade which was a mix of apple schnapps, vodka, blue curaçao and sprite.
K-man’s was tipsy at the end of his drink – Kat’s Rumance. Coconut rum, Captain Morgan, Myer’s Dark Rum. Rum da dee dum… No wonder! But I drank. Like a fish. Two martinis. The Blue Lemon Martini was citrus vodka, blue curaçao and lime juice, while Ivy’s Mean Beantini was Double Espresso Vodka and Monster Mean Bean Energy Drink.
9. I was unruly that night. I was monstrous. In terms of the quantity of food I ate and the rate at which I drank. Sometimes, I embarrass myself. But all for fun.

Leave a Reply

