Thumbprint Cookies

Ingredients:
(makes 4 dozen cookies)
1. 2/3 cup sugar
2. 1 cup butter, softened
3. 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
4. 2 cups all-purpose flour
5. Raspberry jam
6. Mint jelly

Method:
1. Mix the sugar, the molten butter and the almond extract until creamy.
2. Add the flour to make a dough. The consistency will be goo-ey. Worry not. You’re not going wrong. 🙂 Cover the dough and chill it for an hour, at least.
3. Preheat oven to 350° F.
4. Shape the dough into 1-inch balls. Place them 2 inches apart on cookie sheets. With your thumb, press the center of the ball to make a small indentation and fill it with about 1/4 teaspoon of jam.
5. Bake for 14 to 18 minutes or until the edges are slightly browned.
6. Let them stand for a couple of minutes before removing them from the cookie sheet. Sprinkle some sugar crystals whil still warm. (Alternately, drizzle almond glaze, for which you will have to look the recipe up on the baker girl’s blog.

Notes:
1. I feel in love with a blog some time back. Or well, the cookie recipes at least.
http://buddingbaketress.blogspot.com
So here’s a recipe I lifted right off there: (with a change or two, as usual)
2. Original Source: Sunset Magazine, December 1998
3. She suggested a recipe for some glaze to drizzle over the cookies. I hated how the glaze tasted (no offence to her, promise!). So I sprinkled some sugar over the cookies instead. Or you could leave that step out too, as I did, when I baked these cookies again.
4. I don’t know what short bread is. But I loved the crunchy outside and the lightness on the inside of this cookie. I can eat a dozen and still want more. I did that one evening I got back from work. No kidding!
5. Since it was Christmas weekend and I was shipping cookies to Shazmeister and seeing G as well, I wanted to be out and out Chistmas-y! Green and red cookies seemed just about perfect. That explains the mint jelly. The mint cookies tasted nice. A slight toothpaste-ish after taste wasn’t bad at all. The raspberry jam added a sour-ish tinge to the otherwise sweet cookie and I thought that enhanced the awesomeness of the cookies, it did!
6. Dear mother (or any auntie-ish aunty who’s reading this),
Naankhatais? These taste JUST like that!!! Without the jam, of course. So to make the fathers and the uncles and the grandparents food-happy, kindly make inch sized balls and flatten those out and put them away in the oven. Or ummm… Roll out a large-ish sheet of cookie dough and cut out little rectangles to bake. Trust me, YUMMYYY!!! You’ll thank me. But for now, Thank you.
– me
7. They’re SOOOO easy to make!!! And for the end product, fuck yeah, I could bake these every weekend.
8. Yes, they’re irresistible.

FYI, my hard drive crashed a few weeks ago. All pictures were on it. Pictures for thumbprint cookies shall be uploaded when I bake them next. Which is later tonight. 😀 😀 😀

4 thoughts on “Thumbprint Cookies

Leave a Reply

