Honey Oatmeal Choco-chip Cookies

Ingredients:
(Measure make about 3 dozen cookies)
1. 3.5 cups Raisin Bran
2. 1 cup oats
3. 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
4. 1 cup chopped walnuts
5. 1.75 cups all purpose flour
6. 1 teaspoon baking soda
7. 1 teaspoon sea salt (regular salt works just fine)
8. 1 cup honey
9. 1 cup unsalted butter, molten
10. 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Method:
1. Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Mix the wet ingredients in another bowl.
2. Add the wet mixture into the dry mixture and stir just until fully incorporated. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
3. Preheat oven to 350 °F. Line a sheet pan with parchment paper. Roll the cookies into balls and stagger on lined sheet pan. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until just set.

Notes:
1. Here’s where I got the original recipe from: http://whiteonricecouple.com/recipes/honey-chocolate-chip-oatmeal-cookies/
I changed a couple of ingredients here and there because these looked like best-out-of-waste cookies. Now now, I’m not saying oatmeal or cereal is wasteful or waste food or food gone bad or anything of the sort. I haven’t been eating cereal/oatmeal before I leave for work in weeks now. That’s about it. And this seemed like the perfect way to use the cereal and oatmeal. Please note, I didn’t have to buy a single added ingredient from the store, unlike most of my other cookie-baking ventures which involve at least one fancy ingredient.
2. Besides, I baked these around Christmas… along with the thumbprint cookies. I really DID want to do choco chip cookies of SOME sort. So these. I got the link off Tastespotting. I LOVE that place. It beats epicurious hands down. In my humble opinion, of course.
3. Feel free to use your choice of cereal. Please ensure, however, that it is good cereal: bran, muesli, oats or the like. And not Cheerios. :S
4. The honey and the butter won’t mix. Don’t freak out. 🙂 They’ll just blend in with the dry mixture when you add them to it.
5. They didn’t expand as much as I thought they would. I had rolled out fairly small balls in my first batch of cookies, and they didn’t expand. They did rise though, so I smartly flattened them out before they cooled entirely. Not all was lost. The other batches were just fine. Feel free to make them slightly larger.
6. The cookies taste great! Not to forget, they’re healthy. G didn’t like these all that much. I loved them. The wholesome goodness. The possibility of them being healthy cookies, given the ingredients that went in. And ummm, Shazmeister said he liked them too. So , I’m still up for baking these again sometime soon. And not sharing any with G. 😀

Leave a Reply

