Jasmin Mediterranean Bistro

Name of Restaurant: Jasmin Mediterranean Bistro
Location: 2430 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27607

Cuisine: Lebanese/Mediterranean
Date: Twice in the week starting 12/02/2010 through 12/08/2010
Time: 7:00 pm (ish)

What we ordered:
1. Chicken Zaki (Hummus and pita, for the side)
2. Spinach Lavash
3. Mediterranean Platter
4. Lebanese Platter

We paid:
$10.04 the first time (Item #1 + a lime-based soda)
$23.51 the second time (Item #2 through #4 + raspberry juice)

Rating:
1. Ambience: 7/10
2. Service: 8/10
3. Food: 9/10

Notes:
1. This one might interest the boys. Their TV shows football matches. Football Football. UEFA, currently. Happy?
2. Great food at a good price. Very very filling.
3. Cozy ambience.
4. It’s not really a high end place. But it’s good for what it is: just off campus, catering to students and fairly cheap.
5. The first time I was there was a couple of years ago. I don’t remember what I had ordered. I don’t remember enjoying it too much either. But that’s a forgotten story. I was there last Thursday. Thursdays are fas days, one vegetarian meal ONLY. I ordered the Chicken Zaki and asked him to substitute the chicken with eggplant. The decision was a good one. The Zaki was delightful. Roasted eggplant, sun dried tomatoes, feta and mozzarella (double yay!) and a really yummy pesto, all laid out in a tortilla, wrapped into a nice square-like shape, grilled and served hot (as two smaller triangular pieces).

6. G and I went there last night before he left for NY. The spinach lavash was a tortilla filled with spinach, roasted tomatoes, feta cheese and onions, all wrapped together tight and lightly grilled. It was fairly good and yes, very healthy. I would have liked a touch of spice though. It was a tad bland for my taste buds.
7. The Mediterranean Platter that G ordered came with roasted chicken shaved straight from the shwarma rotisserie, lots of salad, some cucumber-yogurt dip , a couple of grape leaves, pita and hummus. The tangy flavour of the grape leaves with the added tanginess of the pilaf stuffed in them is always a #win. It works as a taste-breaker from the regular Mediterranean falvours. The cucumber dip was plain delicious kakdi raita, if you ask me. The chicken was grilled to perfection. I think G quite enjoyed his meal.
8. My Lebanese platter came with a shit load of tabbouli. Now, it’s not like I don’t enjoy tabbouli. But there’s only so much of parsley one can eat, you know. The beef shwarma was a little oily, but it tasted great. The hummus and pita, awesome. The falafel balls, crisp on the outside, a mild green from the flavours and the chickpeas on the inside – perfect – the best falafels I’ve had in a long long time.
9. Personally, I’m a HUGE fan of their hummus and pita. The pita is so fresh… so so fresh, I feel like I’m on one of those do-ungli-se-tootne-wali-roti Pilsbury commercials. The hummus is delicious, with that dash of paprika and that drizzle of olive oil. G says you get better hummus and pita at The Hummus Place, East Village, NYC. I’ll be able to tell only later this month.

Leave a Reply

