Garlic Cheese Chilli Sticks

I’m flying to San Francisco on August 21st. To further the process of looking for a job. I need to use up stashes of grocery over the next few weeks. So I’m on a cooking spree. Indulging myself in the good food I have the ability to cook and obviously, eat.

Here’s something I tried yesterday, to use up a half slab of extra sharp cheddar (I will not make more cheese omelets or cheese paranthas).

Ingredients:
1. A half slab of extra sharp cheddar, grated
2. 3/4 cup all purpose flour
3. 3/4 stick of unsalted butter, molten
4. a few green chillies, finely chopped
5. a half dozen cloves of garlic, ground to a paste or grated
6. basil leaves, I use the dry kind you get in little jars at grocery stores

Method:
1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 F.
2. Mix the ingredients in a bowl to form a consistent dough.
3. Roll the dough out into sticks, about an inch and a half long, half an inch wide and lets say, an eighth of an inch thick. Put them in a baking tray and let them bake for about 15 minutes, or until they begin to brown just a bit.
4. Pull them out out the oven and lay them out in a plate, so that they can cool.
5. They’re ready to eat when cooled.


Yes, they look like bleached turd. But trust me, they’re fabulous!!!

Notes:
1. Super easy!!
2. You can use a cheese of your choice. Mozza should work great, though I’m not sure how the end product will be. The cheese sticks harden when cool. They’re not exactly HARD. They’re soft, but crunchy. And given that people love Mozzarella for the stretchy-ness, I’m not sure of whether the gooey-ness will be incorporated in the final product. I doubt, it will.
3. You can make little flat circles, instead of sticks. You can use fancy cookie cutter like devices and make pretty squares. You could try really long snake thingy, like a soup stick. Or maybe a chakli-jalebi-ish pattern. I don’t really care about the shape as much as I do about the taste.
4. Ever been to Kayani Bakery? And ordered yourself a bag of cheese papadi? That’s exactly what these taste like. I swear.
5. Like I always say, you can be a little creative and tweak the recipe. Use chilli flakes instead of green chillies. Do away with the garlic and add fresh ground pepper instead, may be. Obviously, not both those suggestions in one!
6. I’m guessing these sticks would make an awesome side with a soup.

Leave a Reply

