Chocolate Chip Cookies

I never uploaded recipes for the fortune (birthday) cookies and the chocolate chip cookies I made for G’s birthday and Thanksgiving (which happened to be on the same day in 2009)!!!!

SHAME ON ME!!!!
WOE BE GONE!!!!

Cutting the over-reaction out, completely, here’s the recipe for the chocolate chip cookies.
(The fortune cookies weren’t that great. I’ll perfect that recipe and put it up some day. I promise.)

Ingredients:
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar (regular granulated or even powdered sugar should work fine.)
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
2 eggs
2 cups (12 oz.) chocolate chips
1 cup nuts (I used chopped walnuts. You could use pecans, almonds and cashews, even. Just make sure the almonds/cashews aren’t salted, d-uh!)

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
2. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in bowl.
3. Beat the butter, white sugar, brown sugar and vanilla essence in large bowl until creamy.
4. Add eggs one at a time until smooth.
5. Add in the nuts and the chocolate chips.
6. Use a large baking tray. DO NOT GREASE IT. I shall explain why, shortly. Drop a lump of the mixture , say an inch and a half wide, onto the tray. Drop some more lumps a few inches away from one another. Remember, the lumps will expand to palm sized cookies, so you want to leave enough space for them to faltten out and spread as they cook.
7. Bake for about 7 to 10 minutes, until golden brown.

Comments:
1. I ended up with enough dough to make about 7 batches of cookies, some 8-10 cookies per tray I baked.
2. Like a fool, I thought greasing the tray would be a smart idea. So that’s what I did for batch #1. The cookies browned too quickly, got slightly burned even.
3. Batch #2 was better than #1. Batches 3 to 5 were the best. Batches 6 and 7 got done too quick, so I had to pull them out of the oven in close to 5 minutes. Keep an eye on your cookies while you let them bake.
4. It would be a good idea to test each batch of cookies once it’s cooked before you start packing them up to give to friends and family. I’d say bake some 50 cookies. Sort them out. Give the best ones to your most favorite people. Keep the worst ones for yourself or your boyfriend, he’ll love them anyway. (Okay, okay… I DID give G a few of the best. But I also gave him some of the worst. πŸ™‚ Menon took a few. The guys at 2838 ate a dozen or so. Z liked the cookies too. πŸ™‚ )
5. The cookies were a little chewy at first. But they were fine by the next day.
6. Makes 72 cookies.

Also, on a very random note, the ice cream truck has been coming to Newport every single afternoon!!! I want. I want. I want.

Also also, Rohit bought me some ice cream from Maggie Moo’s yesterday. Rum and Raisin. And obviously, I shared it with him. And he loved it. He’s secretly a big fat bewda, I tell you. I remember he had the birthday cake I’d baked for Suresh. It had truckloadsa Kahlua in it and he’d loved that too.

Leave a Reply

