El Rodeo

Name of Restaurant: El Rodeo
Location: Hillsborough Street, Raleigh

Cuisine: Mexican
Date: 05/17/2010
Time: 3:20 pm

What we ordered:
1. Nachos and salsa (complimentary, yay!!!)
2. Mixed meat Fajita El Rodeo
3. Chicken Fajita Quesadilla

We paid:
$ 24 (taxes and tip inclusive) (meal for two)

Rating:
1. Ambience: 6/10 (The only plus here is that every table is an individual booth. So yeah, privacy. But that apart, the tables are closely spaced and the decor not all that impressive. But then again, it’s not one of those expensive places and it’s meant primary for college students who’d care more about good food than ambience. So, all’s cool.)
2. Service: 7/10 (Prompt but Mexican… Not that I have anything against Hispanics, but yeah, their accent is a little messed up. 🙂 )
3. Food: 9/10 (I LOVE the food here. Given the price, you’re fed more than enough. I had been here a long long time ago on a date and the boy I was with was shocked that I ate all that was served. I used to eat much more then, than I do now. So yes, last afternoon, I wasted some food. Shame on me! Shame on me!)

Comments:
1. My fajitas were served as three individual tortillas in a plate, some lettuce, sour cream and guacamole in another and lots and lots of mixed meat (chicken and beef) grilled and served on a sizzling platter. I made my fajitas and still had a lot of meat and veggies left over. I continued eating until I was a happy, over-full soul. I had about 6 or 7 bites of meat left, but yeah, that’s all I could take. Sorry, Ganu! 😦
2. The other dish was what ‘aamche mister’ had ordered. A chicken quesadilla, fajita style… this huge folded tortilla stuffed with meat and beans. ‘Masale bhaat’ and salad (guacamole, sour cream, lettuce) as sides.
3. The yummiest salsa sauce ever, served in little glass flasks that can be emptied into little ceramic bowls. And unlimited nacho fillings!!! Warning from ‘aaho’: Don’t stuff yourself with the nachos and salsa or you’ll kill your appetite for the yumminess that awaits. Well said!! Aaho, barobar mhantla ki! 😛

Leave a Reply

