Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

1. 2 cups all purpose flour
2. 1 cup granulated sugar
3. 1 teaspoon salt
4. 1/2 cup blueberries
5. 1/3 cup oil
6. 1 1/4 cup milk
7. 1 egg, well beaten
8. 1 tablespoon baking powder

Method:

Stir all dry ingredients together. Make a well. Add oil and egg. Blend some of the blueberries with milk and add to the above mixture. Add in the rest of the blueberries. Stir enough only to moisten the ingredients. Fill Lightly greased muffin tins 2/3rd. Place in an oven pre-heated to 425 F for 15-20 minutes.

Notes:
1. My muffins turned out not-so-sweet and green.
(a) I used half a cup sugar, therefore not as sweet and I thought they should’ve been.
(b) I used only half a cup of sugar, the brown kind, because that’s all I had left over from a cookie baking experiment I had carried out November 2009. I thought it might not be the brightest idea to mix white sugar and brown sugar. I guess I was wrong. So, the brown of the sugar, the yellow of the egg and the blue of the blueberries, happily added to give me a nasty, pukey green.
Though the muffins looked not so appetizing, they tasted great. Perfect fluffiness and texture. Great taste, and I’m sure with the added half a cup of sugar that I’ve recommended here, the muffins should be perfect.
2. The plan originally was to help a certain Miss Dhawan bake a chocolate cake. She never showed up. Since I’m off chocolate for a while now, Suresh and I decided to go ahead and use the bagfuls of all purpose flour I own and make some muffins anyway. I’m glad we did. The recipe was quick and fruitful too. πŸ™‚

I’m looking to try cheesecake or muffins in another fruit flavour soon enough. πŸ™‚ Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

